Welcome to St Mary's Church
St Mary's Church in Lower North Adelaide was first established in 1877 and operated as a branch of the Adelaide Cathedral parish until 1898. The church then operated as a separate parish in its own right following the arrival of Irish Dominican Priests in the colony. It is ironic that in 2007 following the retirement of Fr Kevin O'Loughlin it is once again part of the Adelaide Cathedral Parish.
In its early days (1870's - 1970's) the site operated as both a school and a church. The school was founded by St Mary of the Cross MacKillop and it is believed that she visited the church on several occasions.
Following a restoration in 2001 the church offers a unique blend of a modern liturgical environment in a thoughtfully restored heritage building. The space that has been created is beautiful, hospitable and is an inviting assembly place for all forms of worship. The Church is air-conditioned, has full wheel-chair access and a closed loop system for the hearing impaired.
The community is active, welcoming all who wish to join. Some have attended for many years while others are more transient in this inner city area which attracts students and others on short term assignment in Adelaide. If you are new please introduce yourself to our Pastoral Associate or a CLC member. Often there is coffee after Mass at a nearby cafe, don't be shy about joining in.
News and Events for St Mary's Church
No news found.